Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Rant and Types of Doctors

I'm still very upset over the fact that AP Chem was not offered as a class this year.  Ever since I decided to be a doctor, I planned out the courses I needed to take to have a head start on my medical education.  Of course, AP Chem was on that list.  After taking regular Chemistry (they didn't offer Chemistry Honors in my year...which makes me even more annoyed) and doing well in it, I wanted to take AP Chem the continuous year (this year).  But no, the school stops offering it and ruins my plans.  Instead I had to talk to the counselors and switch over the non-existent AP Chem class to an AP Physics class.  And I'm not particularly enjoying that physics class..  I suppose I should stop whining over it and move on.
I have said I want to be a doctor but I suppose it's time that I actually figure out what kind of doctor.
There are so many different types of doctors...pathologists (deals with the body), pediatricians (deals with children), optometrists (deals with eyes), neurologists (deals with the brain), dermatologists (deals with skin), and many more.  And then within those there are the surgeons, specialists, general doctors, emergency, the list can go on.  And the scary thing is that it is a necessary list.  There is not one person who can specialize in all the fields, or even two of them.  The knowledge needed for each is just too extensive.  The whole process takes so long, four years of graduate school, four years of medical, about another two years of residency, and then going into specialization.  Although nursing would take less time, I suppose it's a matter of pride for me - my family has many close family friends who are doctors and anything less than being a doctor is just not as appealing.  My pride is strange (of course my desire to become a doctor is not simply from pride).
I enjoy working with children, so being a pediatrician called to me.  I also really find it interesting to be in a research lab and discovering things in there.  But I have this preconceived notion that people in research labs usually keep to themselves, and I like talking to others and conversing.  I feel that becoming a surgeon would hold too much pressure - that's someone's life that is in your hands.  I suppose I should intern at places and shadow doctors before I seriously consider which path to take (or I might end up taking one and finding it not to my liking).  Actually being in the room and watching how things happen rather than imagining, is a much better indicator for me.
I can never seem to make up my mind.